Georgia Superior Court, Eastern Judicial Circuit signatures
New Search | Return to Search Results | View/Save/Print PDF

Georgia Superior Court, Eastern Judicial Circuit signatures

Descriptive Summary

Repository: Georgia Historical Society
Creator: Georgia. Superior Court.
Title: Georgia Superior Court, Eastern Judicial Circuit signatures
Dates: 1794-1832
Extent: 0.05 cubic feet (1 folder)
Identification: MS 0815

Biographical/Historical Note

The Georgia Eastern Judicial Circuit of the U.S. Courts was established in 1789. Chatham County was one of the counties in the circuit.

Scope and Content Note

This collection consists of a document bearing the signatures of lawyers and their dates of admission to practice in the Federal Court, 1794-1832. It includes 88 signatures of Savannah lawyers. Included names are: John Glen, mayor, 1790; John Houston, mayor, 1790; W.E. Stephens, mayor and president of the board of wardens, 1790; Matt McAllister, mayor, 1790; Samuel Stirk, president of board of wardens, 1790; Jacob Waldburger, 1790; John Y. Noel, mayor, 1790; Richard Dickinson, 1790; James Whitehead, 1790; James Jackson, governor and soldier, 1790; F. Cuyler, 1791; James Jones, 1791; Sea Jones, 1791; George Walker, 1791; Peter Carnes, 1791; Lawrence Sullivan, 1791; Joseph Gibbons, Jr., 1792; George Walton, signer of the Declaration of Independence, 1793; Charles Jackson, 1793; D.W. Mitchell, ex-governor and mayor, 1793; Joseph Juntingdon, 1793; Samuel Blackburn, 1793; William Williamson, 1793; E. Woodruff, 1794; Sheftall Sheftall, last survivor of Revolution in Savannah, 1794; Robert Watkins, drew first Georgia Code, 1795; G.D. Pendleton, 1795; W.W. Urquhart, 1796; Charles Harris, mayor, 1797; John P. Anderson, 1797; Robert Walker, 1797; Augusta C.G. Elholm, 1798; Henry Osborne, 1798; Edward Bacon, 1799; W.G. Bulloch, mayor; 1799; Willi M. Davis, 1799; Richard Leake, 1800; John Macpherson Berrien, a major under Washington, 1800; F.T. Flyming, 1802; Thomas U.P. Charlton, mayor and judge, 1802; Thomas Flournoy, 1802; Freeman Walker, 1802; Nick Ware, 1802; John Forsyth, ambassador to France, secretary of state and governor, 1804; Joseph H. Stevens, 1805; John Atwater, 1806; John M. Dooley, 1808; George Ker, Jr., 1810; Richard W. Habersham, congressman, 1810; G.W. Owens, mayor, 1811; John Kell, 1811; M. Houston, 1811; George B. McIntosh, 1812; Richard H. Wilde, congressman and poet, 1812; M. Edward Lloyd, 1814; James Morrison, 1814; John Shly, 1815; W.W. Holt, 1817; S.M. Bond, 1817; S. Mordecai, 1811; Bayard E. Hand, 1828; Thomas Campbell, 1832.

Index Terms

Berrien, John Macpherson, 1781-1856.
Bulloch, William Bellinger, 1777-1852.
Charlton, Thomas U. P., (Thomas Usher Pulaski), 1779-1835.
Flournoy, Thomas, 1775-1857.
Georgia--Politics and government--1775-1865.
Georgia. Superior Court.
Habersham, Richard Wylly, 1786-1842.
Houstoun, Mossman, 1786-approximately 1865.
Jackson, James, 1757-1806.
Jones, Seaborn, 1752-1815.
Leake, Ricahrd, 1733-1802.
McAllister, Matthew, 1758-1823.
Morrison, James, 1788-1831.
Noel, John Young, 1762-1817.
Owens, George Welshman, 1786-1856.
Savannah (Ga.)
Sheftall, Sheftall, 1762-1847.
Signatures (names)
Stephens, William, 1752-1819.
Stirk, Samuel, 1756-1793.
Walker, Freeman, 1780-1827.
Walton, George, 1749 or 1750-1804.
Watkins, Robert, 1759 or 1766-1806.
Wilde, Richard Henry, 1789-1847.

Administrative Information

Custodial History

Material was found by a clerk of the U.S. District Court during the transfer of records.

Preferred Citation

[Item identification], Georgia Superior Court, Eastern Judicial Circuit signatures, MS 815, Georgia Historical Society, Savannah, Georgia.

Acquisition Information

Gift of U.S. District Court, Savannah, 1932.


Access Restrictions

Collection is open for research.

Publication Rights

Copyright has not been assigned to the Georgia Historical Society. All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the Division of Library and Archives. Permission for publication is given on behalf of the Georgia Historical Society as the owner of the physical items and is not intended to include or imply permission of the copyright holder, which must also be obtained by the researcher.


Encoding funded by a 2012 Documenting Democracy grant from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission.

Container List

Item 1: Signatures of lawyers with dates of admission to practice in the Federal Court, 1794-1832
Parchment. 88 signatures on the documents; all Savannah lawyers.